ESCAPED ALONE and HERE WE GO by CARYL CHURCHILL

Presented by Frank Theatre

Gremlin Theatre

550 Vandalia Street Saint Paul, MN

$25-30

Call 612-724-3760
Buy tickets online

120 minutes

With intermission

Past performances

Friday, September 6 8:00 pm
Saturday, September 7 8:00 pm
  • Pay what you can night
Sunday, September 8 2:00 pm
Thursday, September 12 8:00 pm
Friday, September 13 8:00 pm
Saturday, September 14 8:00 pm
Sunday, September 15 2:00 pm
Thursday, September 19 8:00 pm
Friday, September 20 8:00 pm
Saturday, September 21 8:00 pm
Sunday, September 22 2:00 pm
Thursday, September 26 8:00 pm
Friday, September 27 8:00 pm
Saturday, September 28 8:00 pm
Sunday, September 29 2:00 pm
 
Drama Comedy Minnesota premiere

Frank Theatre is thrilled to present two new short plays by Caryl Churchill, whose work Frank has presented many times in the company’s 30-year history. ESCAPED ALONE and HERE WE GO deliver an evening of theatre by perhaps the greatest living playwright.

Churchill’s sizzling work ESCAPED ALONE presents a 55-minute elliptical view of the apocalypse, fantasy intricately wired with politics. Four women in their 70s gather for tea in an English garden, combining small talk and the horrors of modern life. Their gossipy everyday conversations lay bare their psychological troubles — from depression to fear of cats, from an “accidentally” dead husband to agoraphobia — punctuated starkly with surreal apocalyptic monologues. Which world is real? How are they connected?

“It’s worth noting that simply writing a play featuring four women in their seventies without making it about their age is a reasonably subversive political act.” — The Atlantic

In the second piece, Churchill peers into the void with HERE WE GO, a poetic triptych of mortality. In the first scene, a group has gathered at a party after a funeral, remembering the man who has passed. In the second scene, a man observes the afterlife—Valhalla, Charon, and other mythical representations appear to him. But has he died? In the third wordless section, we see the intimate relationship between a frail man winding down his life with a caregiver.

“What Churchill has written is a striking memento mori for an age without faith; and although her play is brief, that in itself evokes the idea that we are here for a short time and then are suddenly gone.” — The Guardian 

Caryl Churchill has written for the stage, television, and radio. A renowned and prolific playwright, her plays include Cloud NineTop GirlsFar AwayDrunk Enough to Say I Love You?BlissLove and InformationMad Forest, and A Number. In 2002, she received the Obie Lifetime Achievement Award and in 2010, she was inducted into the American Theater Hall of Fame.

Joe Stanley Set Designer
Mike Wangen Lighting Designer
Dan Dukich Sound Designer