GIRL Shakes Loose

Presented by Penumbra Theatre

Penumbra Theatre

270 North Kent Street Saint Paul, MN 55102

$40

Call 651.224.3180
Buy tickets online

Past performances

Tuesday, April 18 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Wednesday, April 19 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Thursday, April 20 7:30 pm
Friday, April 21 7:30 pm
Saturday, April 22 2:00 pm
Saturday, April 22 7:30 pm
Sunday, April 23 2:00 pm
Wednesday, April 26 7:30 pm
Thursday, April 27 7:30 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Friday, April 28 7:30 pm
Saturday, April 29 2:00 pm
Saturday, April 29 7:30 pm
Sunday, April 30 2:00 pm
Wednesday, May 3 7:30 pm
Thursday, May 4 7:30 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Friday, May 5 7:30 pm
 
Drama Musical New work Minnesota premiere

Zakiyyah Alexander and Imani Uzuri’s
GIRL SHAKES LOOSE
Directed by May Adrales

Why is it so hard to grow up? GIRL is a good girl: smart, beautiful, and a little rebellious, or, as her family would say, “hard-headed.” For the most part, she has played by the rules, finishing college and then graduate school. She is perfectly poised for success, but something is in her way. Floundering in love, life, and career, GIRL goes on a journey to discover what she’s missing, but wherever she goes, there she is. Eventually, GIRL learns that what she’s seeking is herself: powerful, grounded, and so much stronger than she thought. A groundbreaking new musical by Zakiyyah Alexander and Imani Uzuri, GIRL Shakes Loose is the soulful story of one woman’s search for herself. Featuring the lush poetry of Sonia Sanchez and a stirring original score, you won’t want to miss this world premiere. Brimming with hope, humor, and headstrong passion, you’ll cheer GIRL on, remembering your own journey along the way.