Hairspray

Presented by Ashland Productions

Meet The Cast of Hairspray at Ashland Productions

Ashland Productions

2100 White Bear Avenue North, Maplewood, Mn 55109

$13-$20

Call 651-274-8020
Buy tickets online

120 minutes

With intermission

Past performances

Friday, July 27 7:30 pm
Saturday, July 28 7:30 pm
Sunday, July 29 2:00 pm
Thursday, August 2 7:30 pm
Friday, August 3 7:30 pm
Saturday, August 4 7:30 pm
  • ASL interpreted
Sunday, August 5 2:00 pm
Thursday, August 9 7:30 pm
Friday, August 10 7:30 pm
Saturday, August 11 7:30 pm
Sunday, August 12 2:00 pm
 
Musical

Ashland Productions presents: Hairspray! The Musical! 
Show runs July 27th-August 12th
Tickets on sale NOW! $13-$20

The 1950s are out and change is in the air! Hairspray, winner of 8 TONY Awards including Best Musical, is a family-friendly musical piled bouffant high with laughter, romance, and deliriously tuneful songs.

In 1962 Baltimore, Maryland, teenager Tracy Turnblad's dream is to dance on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program based on the real-life Buddy Deane Show. When Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight, and meets a colorful array of characters, leading to social change as Tracy campaigns for the show's integration.

Hairspray explores the themes of racism and freedom of expression. It highlights individuality, and the importance of everyone working together for something to become revolutionary. The musical is empowering, as although it touches on racial issues that were prevalent in 1960s America, it focuses more on the attitudes that are associated with it, and the power that we have to change discrimination. The musical encourages individuality, acceptance and freedom. It is a musical that can be applied to any social context and time, as it highlights ongoing issues such as fat-shaming, racism and discrimination