The Great Leap

Presented by Guthrie Theater

McGuire Proscenium Stage

818 South 2nd Street Minneapolis, MN 55415

$15 - $78

Call 6122256191
Buy tickets online

105 minutes

With intermission

Past performances

Saturday, January 12 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Sunday, January 13 7:00 pm
  • Preview
Tuesday, January 15 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Wednesday, January 16 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Thursday, January 17 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Friday, January 18 7:30 pm
Saturday, January 19 1:00 pm
Saturday, January 19 7:30 pm
Sunday, January 20 1:00 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Tuesday, January 22 7:30 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Wednesday, January 23 7:30 pm
Thursday, January 24 7:30 pm
Friday, January 25 7:30 pm
Saturday, January 26 1:00 pm
Saturday, January 26 7:30 pm
Sunday, January 27 1:00 pm
  • Post-show discussion
 
Drama Comedy

When an American basketball team travels to Beijing for an exhibition game in 1989, the drama goes deeper than the strain between countries. For two men with a past and one teen with a future, the game is a chance to stake their moment in history and claim personal victories off the court. Tensions rise right up to the final buzzer as history collides with the action in the stadium. Rapid-fire comedy meets poignant reflection in this perceptive new play inspired by the life of playwright Lauren Yee’s father. Contains mature language.