The Royale

Presented by Yellow Tree Theatre

Yellow Tree Theatre

320 Fifth Avenue SE Osseo, MN 55369

$23 - $28

Call 763-493-8733
Buy tickets online

90 minutes

Past performances

Sunday, February 18 2:00 pm
Sunday, February 18 2:00 pm
Wednesday, February 21 2:00 pm
Wednesday, February 21 2:00 pm
Wednesday, February 21 7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 21 7:30 pm
Thursday, February 22 7:30 pm
Friday, February 23 7:30 pm
Saturday, February 24 7:30 pm
Sunday, February 25 2:00 pm
Wednesday, February 28 7:30 pm
Thursday, March 1 7:30 pm
Friday, March 2 7:30 pm
Saturday, March 3 2:00 pm
Saturday, March 3 7:30 pm
Sunday, March 4 2:00 pm
 
Drama Minnesota premiere

The Royale
by Marco Ramirez

directed by Austene Van

Yellow Tree Theatre

February 2 – March 4
Jay ‘The Sport’ Jackson dreams of being the undisputed heavyweight champion of the world. But it’s 1905 and, in the racially segregated world of boxing, his chances are as good as knocked out. Told in six rounds and set in a boxing ring, The Royale is inspired by the often overlooked story of Jack Johnson, a boxer who quickly became the most famous black man in the world. But at the height of the Jim Crow era, victory for a black man over a white man posed untold dangers and Jay quickly finds himself fighting for more than just a title. Written by award-winning American writer Marco Ramirez (Sons of Anarchy, Orange is the New Black), Yellow Tree is thrilled to host the regional premiere of this extraordinary new play! “Original and graceful, The Royale packs a punch!”–The New York Times

Featuring: David Murray, James Craven, Santino Craven, Tamala Lacy and Charles Fraser

Director
Katie Phillips Scene Designer
Courtney Schmitz Lighting Designer