WHEN THE SHARK BITES: Hauptmann & Brecht, Lenya & …

Presented by Chronofon and Open Eye Figure Theatre

Open Eye Figure Theatre

506 E 24TH STREET MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55404 (612) 874-6338 [email protected]

$28 - $65

Call (612) 874-6338
Buy tickets online

90 minutes

Past performances

Wednesday, August 7 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Thursday, August 8 7:30 pm
Friday, August 9 7:30 pm
Saturday, August 10 6:00 pm
  • Post-show party
Sunday, August 11 4:00 pm
Monday, August 12 7:30 pm
Wednesday, August 14 7:30 pm
Thursday, August 15 7:30 pm
Friday, August 16 7:30 pm
Saturday, August 17 7:30 pm
Sunday, August 18 4:00 pm
 
Cabaret/variety

 FEATURING THE MUSIC OF KURT WEILL, BERTOLT BRECHT, AND THEIR LITTLE-KNOWN CO-WRITER, ELISABETH HAUPTMANN. 

Created by Dan Chouinard, Diana Grasselli, Bradley Greenwald, and Prudence Johnson The team who created last season's box office smash DEAR LENNY: Bernstein's Life in Songs & Letters return this summer!  

WHEN THE SHARK BITES: Hauptmann & Brecht, Lenya & Weill is a theatrical concert of the music of Kurt Weill, Bertolt Brecht, their largely uncredited co-writer, Elisabeth Hauptmann and Kurt Weill's wife and celebrated performer, Lotte Lenya. 

Exploring the collaboration between these hugely influential artists of the Berlin theater during the Weimar Republic the brief democratic, interwar period just before the Nazis gained power.   

WHEN THE SHARK BITES will feature songs from Threepenny Opera, Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny and Happy End. 

Audiences will come for the music and leave with a deeper understanding of what compelled these artists to change theater, music and modern culture forever.