Shakespeare in Love

Presented by Great River Shakespeare Festival

Winona State University Performing Arts Center

450 Johnson St. Winona, MN 55987

$10 - $49

Call 5074747900
Buy tickets online

150 minutes

With intermission

Past performances

Friday, June 22 7:30 pm
  • Preview
  • Pay what you can night
  • Pre-show discussion
Tuesday, June 26 7:30 pm
  • Preview
  • Pay what you can night
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, June 29 7:30 pm
  • Post-show party
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 6 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Sunday, July 8 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Tuesday, July 10 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 13 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, July 14 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Wednesday, July 18 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Thursday, July 19 7:30 pm
  • Post-show discussion
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, July 21 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
  • Post-show discussion
Wednesday, July 25 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 27 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Sunday, July 29 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, August 3 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, August 4 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
 
Comedy Minnesota premiere

Penniless and indebted to two demanding producers, struggling young playwright William Shakespeare is tormented by writer’s block until he meets the beautiful Viola de Lesseps, daughter of a wealthy merchant, whose fiery passion for poetry and drama leaves her secretly longing to be an actor. Both are despondent when they learn that Viola’s father has promised her to the stuffy Lord Wessex in order to gain a title for their family. Under the veil of secrecy, Will and Viola’s passionate love affair becomes the basis of the very play he is writing – Romeo and Juliet. With opening night – and the wedding day – fast approaching, the plots race toward a parallel conclusion. Will it all work out in the end or are the two star-crossed lovers destined for tragedy?